Foreign Rights

News

Yevgenia Belorusets' stories Lucky Breaks have been published in English and already reviewed by The EconomistThe Financial Times and  The Times Literary Supplement.The author is currently writing a war diary from Kyiv in German for the Spiegel and in English for isolarii. 

Dietmar Dath's novel Gentzen or Cleaning Up Drunk is nominated for the Leipzig Book Prize 2022.

The Times Literary Supplement  has read with great joy Susanne Wedlich's book Slime. A Cultural History.

Reto Hänny has been awarded the Swiss Grand Prix for Literature 2022 (his novels: Sturz and Blooms Schatten).

Svenska Dagbladet has read Hanna Engelmeier's essay Trost on the role of comfort in literature.

El País has read the Spanish translation of Anne Weber's novel Annette and loved it.

Susanne Wedlich's book Slime. A Cultural History is a BBC4 Book of the Week.

Anne Weber is on the shortlist of the Premio Strega Europeo 2021 with the Italian translation of her novel Annette. Ein Heldinnenepos published by Mondadori and translated by Agnese Grieco.

Matthes & Seitz is now representing the French bestseller author Alain Damasio worldwide: Les Furtifs and La Horde du Contrevent

Heike Behrend has been awarded the Prize of the Leipzig Book Fair 2021 for her essay Incarnation of an Ape.

Recent Sales

Menschenwerdung eines Affen by Heike Behrend to Italy (Bollati Boringhieri)

White Skin Back Soul by Doris Byer to Greece (Lemvos)

Aber der Himmel - grandios by Dalia Grinkeviciute to Greece (Vakxikon)

Palliativgesellschaft and Kapitalismus und Todestrieb by Byung-chul Han to China (CITIC)

The Labour of Enjoyment by Samo Tomsic to Turkey (Axis Yayinlari).

Glückliche Fälle by Yevgenia Belorusets to Italy (Piemme/Mondadori), Norway (Oktober, with pre-emt) and France (Editions Bourgois, with pre-empt).

Das Buch vom Schleim by Susanne Wedlich to Russia (AST).

Esel. Ein Portrait by Jutta Person to Spain/Spanish World (Adriana Hidalgo Editora)

Der Weltgeist als Lachs by Moritz Rudolph to Italy (Tlon Edizioni) and Spain (Herder Editorial)

Topologie der Gewalt and Palliativgesellschaft by Byung-chul Han to Romania (Contrasens)

Technik.Kapital.Medium by Peter Trawny to Slovenia (University of Ljubljana)

Am Rand by Paul Scraton to Poland (Wydawnictwo Czarne)

Aber der Himmel - grandios by Dalia Grinkeviciute to Iceland (The Vigdis Finnbogadottir Institute of Foreign Languages)

Enlivenment by Andreas Weber to Spain (Editorial Kairós)

Transparenzgesellschaft by Byung-chul Han to Estonia (Kultuurileht)

Das Buch von Schleim by Susanne Wedlich and Algen. Ein Portrait by Miek Zwamborn to Italy (Nottetempo)

Menschenwerdung eines Affen by Heike Behrend to China (People's Literature)

Transparenzgesellschaft by Byung-chul Han to Albanian (Pika Pa Siterfaqe)

Orte des lebendigen Todes by László F. Földényi and Agonie des Eros by Byung-chul Han to North Macedonian (Artkonekt)

Hitler, die Philosophie und der Hass by Peter Trawny to Norway (Existenz Forlag)

Undienlichkeit by Iris Därmann to Spain/Latin America (Katakrak)

Erdöl. Ein Atlas der Petromoderne by Alexander Klose and Benjamin Steininger to Russia (Logos)

zu den blühenden allmaterie by Gustav Sjöberg to Italy (Neri Pozza)

Dunkle Zahlen by Matthias Senkel to Russia (Gorodets)

Der Missbrauch des Eigentums by Daniel Loick to USA/UK (The MIT Press)

 

 

Matthes & Seitz Berlin is a German independent publishing house founded in 2004 by Andreas Rözer. It was established in the tradition of Matthes & Seitz Munich, a publishing house founded by Axel Matthes and Claus Seitz in 1977. Matthes & Seitz Berlin publishes about 80 titles per year in fiction and non-fiction.

The fiction list includes contemporary authors from Germany, like Frank Witzel (winner of the German Book Prize 2015), Anne Weber (German Book Prize 2020), Esther Kinsky, Angela Steidele, and Philip Schönthaler. Matthes & Seitz Berlin is not only known for German literature, but also for the translations of contemporary and classic French literature like Antonin Artaud, Emmanuel Carrère, Céline Minard and Éric Vuillard, the winner of the Prix Goncourt 2017. Among the strong list of Russian literature you find Warlam Schalamow, Iliazd, Alexander Ilitchevski and Alexander Goldstein.

Non-fiction has always had a central place in Matthes & Seitz's program, especially philosophy, political theory, and art and cultural studies. Translations from the French and English play a large part, as do prominent German authors like Jürgen Goldstein (winner of the Leipzig Book Fair Prize 2016). The series Fröhliche Wissenschaft (The Joyful Wisdom), with its short essays, is a prominent stage for presenting audacious new philosophers. Its authors, who include Byung-chul Han and Marcus Steinweg, have been translated into numerous languages.

In 2013 Matthes & Seitz Berlin established a new cornerstone in its program with the series Naturkunden (Natural Sciences), which publishes books whose design matches nature's beauty, bringing nature writing, movement, space, ecology, and humanity into focus. In order to stimulate German literary voices writing about nature Matthes & Seitz Berlin donates the "German Price for Nature Writing".

To read more about Matthes & Seitz Berlin: Jürgen Boos in conversation with Andreas Rötzer

Foreign rights guide

            

Spring 2022                                     Fall 2021                                          Spring 2021

Nature