Foreign Rights

News

Guillaume Paoli has been awarded the Günther Anders Prize for Critical Thinking 2024 for his book Mind and Garbage

Anne Weber has been awarded the Annette von Droste Hülshoff Prize 2024 and the Solothurner Literaturpreis 2024.

Yevgenia Belorusets has received the Women of Europe Award 2023. 

Joshua Groß is nominated for the Leipzig Book Prize 2023 with his novel Prana Extrem.

Isabel Fargo Cole has been awarded the Literature Prize of the A and A Foundation 2023 for her book The Gold Coast

Marie Luise Knott has been awarded the Tractatus Essay Prize 2022 with her book 370 Riverside Drive, 730 Riverside Drive. Hannah Arendt and Ralph Ellison

The Irish Times has read Anne Weber's Epic Annette: "nuanced, immensely moving testimony to an improbable life".

Yevgenia Belorusets' stories Lucky Breaks have been published in English and already reviewed by The EconomistThe Financial Times and  The Times Literary Supplement.The author is currently writing a war diary from Kyiv in German for the Spiegel and in English for isolarii. Her war diary has been translated into French and made the front page of Le Monde des Livres

Dietmar Dath's novel Gentzen or Cleaning Up Drunk is nominated for the Leipzig Book Prize 2022.

Recent Sales

Lithuanians by the Laptev Sea by Dalia Grinkevičiūtė to Czech Republic (Argo)

Annette: An Epic Heroine by Anne Weber: Galician rights (Aira Editorial)

Infocracy by Byung-Chul Han to Albania (Berk)

The Hero and his Heater by Susanne Stephan to Italy (Del Vecchio)

Enlivenment. Towards a Poetics for the Anthropocene by Andreas Weber to Czech Republic (Obec širšího společenství českých unitářů)

Infocracy and Capitalism and Death Instinct by Byung-Chul Han to Russia (AST)

370 Riverside Drive, 730 Riverside Drive by Marie Luise Knott to Korea (Sanzini)

Sadism With and Without Sade by Iris Därmann to Spanish World (Katakrak)

The Burnout Society by Byung-Chul Han to Estonia (Loomingu Raamatukogu)

Die Hundegrenze by Marie-Luise Scherer to the Netherlands (Oevers)

Infocracy and Transparency Society by Byung-Chul Han to Mongolia (Tagtaa)

Nachtwache by Hanns Cibulka to Denmark (A Mock Book)

The Great Gopnik by Viktor Jerofejew to Hungary (Atlantic Press)

The Agony of Eros and Capitalism and Death Instinct by Byung-Chul Han to Thailand (Sam Yan Press)

The Underground by Hamid Ismailov to Poland (Filtry) and Italy (Utopia)

Against Nature by Lorraine Daston to Italy (Timeo)

Queeres Post-Cinema by Astrid Deuber-Mankowsky to English World (ICI Berlin Press)

The Crisis of Narration by Byung-Chul Han to Sweden (Ersatz) and the Netherlands (Ten Have)

The Big Gardening Book by Lola Randl to Slovakia (Vydavateľstvo E.J.)

Annette: An Epic Heroine by Anne Weber to Thailand (KledThai Publishing)

Humboldt or How Travel Changes the Way we Think by Oliver Lubrich to Spanish World (Ediciones Vegueta)

Lucky Breaks by Yvgenia Belorusets to Macedonia (Artkonekt) 

Geschichte der Zärtlichkeit by Johannes Kleinbeck to Russia (AST)

Monkeys by Volker Sommer to English World (Greystone)

Das Leben schreiben. Warlam Schalamow: Biographie und Poetik by Franziska Thun-Hohenstein to Russia (Ivan Limbakh)

The Abuse of Property by Daniel Loick: Catalan rights (Editorial Neopàtria); Argentinia (Ubu Ediciones)

Siebzehn Diptychen in Prosa (selection; poetry anthology) by Michael Donhauser to Slovakia (Skalna Ruza Publishing)

Crudelitas by Wolfgang Müller-Funk to English World (Polity)

Oil. An Atlas of Petromodernity by Benjamin Steininger and Alexander Klose to English World (punctum books)

The Utopia of Socialism by Klaus Dörre to English World (Edward Elgar)

The Descendants by Ivna Zic to Latin America (Ediciones del Lirio)

Spectacular Machines by Daniel Strassberg to Russia (AST)

Ethics of Appropriation by Jens Balzer to Spanish World (Herder)

Mercury Retrograde by Emily Segal to Italy (Flash Magazine)

Matthes & Seitz Berlin is a German independent publishing house founded in 2004 by Andreas Rötzer. It was established in the tradition of Matthes & Seitz Munich, a publishing house founded by Axel Matthes and Claus Seitz in 1977. Matthes & Seitz Berlin publishes about 100 titles per year in fiction and non-fiction.

The fiction list includes contemporary authors from Germany, like Frank Witzel (winner of the German Book Prize 2015), Anne Weber (German Book Prize 2020), Esther Kinsky, Angela Steidele, and Philipp Schönthaler. Matthes & Seitz Berlin is not only known for German literature, but also for the translations of contemporary and classic French literature like Antonin Artaud, Emmanuel Carrère, Céline Minard and Éric Vuillard, the winner of the Prix Goncourt 2017. Among the strong list of Russian literature you find Warlam Schalamow, Iliazd, Alexander Ilitchevski and Alexander Goldstein.

Non-fiction has always had a central place in Matthes & Seitz's program, especially philosophy, political theory, and art and cultural studies. Translations from the French and English play a large part, as do prominent German authors like Jürgen Goldstein (winner of the Leipzig Book Fair Prize 2016). The series Fröhliche Wissenschaft (The Joyful Wisdom), with its short essays, is a prominent stage for presenting audacious new philosophers. Its authors, who include Byung-Chul Han and Marcus Steinweg, have been translated into numerous languages.

In 2013 Matthes & Seitz Berlin established a new cornerstone in its program with the series Naturkunden (Natural Sciences), which publishes books whose design matches nature's beauty, bringing nature writing, movement, space, ecology, and humanity into focus. In order to stimulate German literary voices writing about nature Matthes & Seitz Berlin donates the "German Price for Nature Writing".

To read more about Matthes & Seitz Berlin: Jürgen Boos in conversation with Andreas Rötzer

Foreign rights guides

Fall 2023

Spring 2023

Fall 2022

Spring 2022

Fall 2021

Spring 2021